Where were you when this happened

Published on by AnshanJohn

Survivors, rescuers to mark Wahine anniversary

Survivors and rescuers will gather together in Wellington today to mark the 44th anniversary of the Wahine disaster.

Wellington's Museum of City and Sea is hosting the annual commemoration, with never-before-seen amateur video of the disaster available for public viewing.

The Wahine inter-island ferry struck Barrett Reef at the entrance to Wellington Harbour on April 10, 1968.

The ferry was caught in extreme conditions caused by tropical cyclone Giselle, and 51 people died in the disaster.

God-son of the ship's captain, and author of website thewahine.com, Murray Robinson says his memory of the fateful day is still clear.

"I can remember a tarpaulin with shapes beneath it and a policeman told me to take myself and my sister away because they were about to remove the corpses and I remember asking my father what did he mean, and my father said `nothing' and just took us by the hand and led us away,'' Newstalk ZB reported.

Mr Robinson says he started his website to counter the negative things reported about Captain Gordon Robertson following the tragedy.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post